Developing a Consortial Service Model for SCELC Institutions on the JSTOR Shared Collections Platform
This multi-year pilot project is a collaborative effort between SCELC Member institutions, SCELC Staff, and JSTOR to build the Shared Collections Digital Cooperative (SCDC): a cohort of libraries that will determine the feasibility and efficacy of a SCELC consortial services layer within platforms like JSTOR Shared Collections. Institutions participating in SCDC will pay a Digital Cooperative Fee which funds JSTOR's service costs and SCELC Staff time to:
- Develop SCELC Staff "Level 1" services for the Cooperative
- Quarterly collection updates to existing collections
- New collection metadata mapping & content loading
- Hosting platform and content consultations with individual institutions
- Lead community building efforts for the Cooperative
- Group and meeting coordination
- Shared documentation Information sharing, documentation, and best practices
- Onboarding new institutions
- End of year progress report
- Of the program overall
- On request: Usage & impact reports for individual institutions
The SCDC builds directly upon the success of the preceding JSTOR Open Community Collections (OCC) initiative, in which SCELC Member libraries demonstrated the viability of a JSTOR digital collections platform by contributing 140 collections and 67,000+ items from their institutions. The goals of the SCDC are to:
- Support the continued collections growth of SCELC Member libraries which participated in the OCC Charter period
- Document and share workflows and best practices developed by the Cooperative
- Attract more SCELC institutions interested in building their digital collections on the JSTOR platform
- Lay the foundation for future SCELC growth in the area of consortial services beyond eResource licensing
